Reading Online is More Than Fine

As I read the article “Reading (and Writing) Online, Rather Than on the Decline” by Kathleen Fitzpatrick, I can’t help but laugh at the irony of the situation. This article is (obviously) about reading and writing online and how it is affecting the perception of the humanities as well as discussing the public’s lack of consumption of physical books, yet I am reading this article ONLINE. Not in print, not in an anthology that is physically sitting on my lap, but online. Honestly, I don’t really see a problem with reading and writing moving from mainly print based to becoming a larger online presence; I think it’s nothing short of beneficial.

giphy

(actual footage of me in a bookstore)

Personally, I love a good print book; I love to go to my local bookstore and pick out my next adventure so that I can go home and curl up on a chair with my new purchase. But, I also think that there is nothing wrong with bypassing that step and just getting your new book sent to your kindle in a matter of seconds. I used to be dead-set against digital copies of novels but when I got a kindle from my parents this past Christmas (shout out to the best parents in the world, HOLLA), I realized that they were actually feeding my reading addiction by giving me instant access to novels rather than stunting it. If anything, the move from print to online is fairly beneficial for the authors since their work is able to be read by an audience more vast than before when their work was purely print. The ease of access to all of these sources is also pretty nice because as a college student, I don’t have to search for hours trying to find one article in an anthology that might have something to do with a paper that I am writing; I can just search it online and have a scholarly work on my laptop within minutes.

Now I’m not saying that reading and writing should just abandon its roots and completely get rid of the printing process to just strictly be online. I truly believe that there should be a balance between both and that books should continue to gain a larger presence online so that everyone—not just those fortunate enough to have a bookstore or a library right around the corner from them—can be able to access them. YAY LITERATURE!

 

Until next time.

EMC

explore. muse. create.

 

 

 

Check out Fitzpatrick’s article here!

Fitzpatrick, Kathleen. “Reading (and Writing) Online, Rather than On the Decline.” Profession (2012): 41-52.

GIF: Giphy

Leave a Reply

