The End is Nigh . . . Uh Oh

For a college senior, the month of April and the graduation that comes right after it can be both exciting and stressful. It is exciting because, hey, the sun is shining and it’s warm (but apparently not in Scranton) and we don’t have to go to school anymore and deal with mass amounts of homework that keep us up until 2 am (unless of course, you are going to grad school right after, and if you do, then Godspeed to you, you precious soul). While I am excited about what is to come after graduation, I am definitely feeling the stress that April brings, and that stress is fueled by my job search. Luckily for me, good ol’ Lindsey Pollak and her book Getting from College to Career have provided me with some advice so I don’t feel so bad about myself and my fruitless job search.

 

“Follow every rainbow” (233).

I don’t think that there is any better advice for people in my position than this one right here. Pollak uses this analogy to tell her readers to take every opportunity that presents itself to them when it comes to job offers because really, who knows where those opportunities will take you. I know that as I look for jobs, I am applying for all sorts of things that I believe that I have the ability to perform well and that whenever I get an offer (which I hope will be soon!), I will definitely jump at the opportunity to show my future employer what I’ve got. BAM.

“Go with the flow” (298).

Pollak offers this piece of advice for those going into an interview with a potential employer. She says that while it is important to have an idea of what you would want to say for certain questions that might be asked, you shouldn’t be caught off guard if the employer asks you something that you haven’t prepared a word for word answer for. Pollak suggests that we “go with the flow” and be ourselves, because employers are looking for someone who stands out rather than stays with the crowd.

 

Until next time.

EMC

explore. muse. create.

 

 

 

Pollak, Lindsey. Getting from College to Career. Revised ed. New York: HarperCollins, 2012. Print.

Leave a Reply

