Revision . . . ugh

I’m going to start this post off with a fairly blunt statement: I HATE REVISING. I don’t know what it is about the process of revising that I can’t stand but it just makes me crazy. Maybe it’s due to the fact that after writing a bajillion page paper for class, I just don’t want to look at it any more after the first time I write it. Maybe it’s because after writing, I think that I wrote my paper well enough the first time and if I change it, it’s going to sound awful. Unfortunately, revising is a necessary evil. But to make it better, my homeboys Booth, Colomb, and Williams wrote a ton of stuff about revision and finding the perfect attention-grabbing title in The Craft of Research.

 

“. . . revising for readers doesn’t mean pandering to them. In fact, you only improve your ideas when you imagine drawing readers into an amiable conversation in which they engage your beliefs as you engage theirs” (203).

After reading this statement, I realized that I just have to suck it up and revise my work because in all actuality, what my readers get out of my work is what really matters. Currently, I am at the revising stage of my capstone paper and will be getting my paper peer-reviewed tomorrow. While I haven’t started revising it yet (because really, what student in their last semester of college actually gets work done before the night before it’s due), I am sure to keep this idea in mind and really look at my work from an outside perspective to get the best (first) revision that I can get!

 

“The first thing readers read—and the last thing that you should write—is your title” (248).

I know that I am not the only one that struggles with coming up with a snazzy title. I used to try to force myself to come up with one right from the get-go but I realized that doing that is near impossible. I agree with the advice from my homeboys; don’t write a title until the end because then you’ll actually know what your paper is about and can create an effective title that way.

 

“Readers will accept your claim only if they understand your argument, but they won’t understand your argument if they can’t understand your sentences” (249).

Basically, make sure that you have some awesome, grammatically correct, sentences so that your reader knows what the heck is going on. Clarity is key when creating a convincing argument!

 

Until next time.

EMC

explore. muse. create.

 

 

Booth, Wayne C., Gregory G. Colomb, and Joseph M. Williams. The Craft of Research. Third ed. Chicago: U of Chicago, 2008. Print.

Leave a Reply

