Intros and Conclusions . . . Yay!

Hey everyone! Guess what time it is. No really, guess. I’ll give you a hint: I talk about this book a lot. Like A LOT. If you said The Craft of Research then you are correct! (and I really hope you did because you didn’t have many options to choose from . . .) Anyway, here are some quotes about intros and conclusions that I hope help you as much as they helped me:

 

“To convince readers that they should take your problem seriously, you must state the cost  they will pay if it is not resolved or the benefits  they gain if it is” (239).

This is such an important aspect of writing an introduction that really determines whether or not your reader will continue on with your paper or move on to the next one. When faced with a situation, most people want to know what is in it for them, so if you discover something that is worth reading on about, then make sure that you write your intro in a way that conveys to your reader that your topic will change their lives for the better. I hope that when I finally get around to writing the intro for my final capstone paper, I’m able to do this because my topic— the representation of gender in Disney’s Maleficent— is something that is both current and rarely talked about, so (hopefully) people will see that they will benefit from the knowledge that they would gain and act as a force to change the world for the better. Yay!

 

“You can bring your report to a graceful, even literary close with an echo of your opening fact, anecdote, or quotation” (247).

It wasn’t until last semester that I really ever tried to echo a fancy intro into an even fancier conclusion, but that was really only because I was required to for one of my classes. After doing this, however, I see how this is something that is extremely beneficial for you as a writer because it brings your paper full-circle and helps wrap it up in a neat little package with a bow on top. And then you can hand it in to your teacher like this and know that it is perfect:

Hands holding a gift box isolated on black background

 

Until next time.

EMC

explore. muse. create.

 

 

Booth, Wayne C., Gregory G. Colomb, and Joseph M. Williams. The Craft of Research. Third ed. Chicago: U of Chicago, 2008. Print.

Image: asenat29

Leave a Reply

