Revision, Reputation, and Relaxation

Hey everyone! It is time yet again to impart some Craft of Research wisdom upon you, and this time it is all about drafting and citations:

 

“Most writers work best when they draft quickly, revise carefully, and toss what’s irrelevant. But draft in any way that works for you” (187-188).

For me, I was never much of a drafter; I would write up a short outline to follow while writing my essay in one night, and just hand it in the next day. Honestly, I never saw a problem with doing this because I never got bad grades on my assignments and I think that short outlines benefit me more than a draft of a paper that I have to go through and revise. Since we have been using the drafting process in my capstone class, I have been struggling a bit, but I have convinced myself while writing it to believe that my draft is my final paper and that the short outline is all I have to do to prepare for it . . . whatever works, right?

 

“Citations protect you from a charge from plagiarism, but beyond that narrow self-interest, correct citations contribute to your ethos” (195).

I have always heard from my teachers to constantly cite so that I don’t get accused of plagiarism which is true, but the fact that it adds to your credibility as a writer is sometimes looked over. I think that instead of looking at citing sources as a pain in the behind, they should be looked at as ways to show your readers that you are knowledgeable and that other more reputable sources than a senior college student think the same way which actually is pretty cool!

 

“If you’re stuck but have time . . . let your subconscious work on the problem while you do something else for a day or two” (199).

Like I mentioned earlier, I like to write my entire paper in one day and hand it in the next and suffer in silence when I get stuck in my writing. After reading this, I have realized that I really should give myself more time to get work done and work through writer’s block rather than face it head on because that is super frustrating. My mom always tells me to walk away from the problem and relax a little but I never do . . . I guess moms really do know best.

tumblr_n1dasaJLel1r0yq4zo2_r1_500

 

Until next time.

EMC

explore. muse. create.

 

 

Booth, Wayne C., Gregory G. Colomb, and Joseph M. Williams. The Craft of Research. Third ed. Chicago: U of Chicago, 2008. Print.

GIF: WordPress

Leave a Reply

