So, Why DO the Liberal Arts Matter?

I think that is an extremely valid question that has been on the minds of many recent or potential college graduates who chose to go to a liberal arts school. I know that for me, it is a question that I grapple with whenever I am reminded that I am about to graduate in less than three months. Not only is that a scary thought, but it also makes me think, “what did I learn in my education that can apply to my future?” As Fareed Zakaria writes in his article “Why the Liberal Arts Matter,” he emphasizes the importance of its versatility. In almost every career you work in, you will be expected to write, speak your opinions, and continue your education through your work experiences. According to Zakaria, this is exactly what a liberal arts education does . . . and I wholeheartedly agree.

While it might be frowned upon by many, a liberal arts education sets those who have one apart from those who went to a specialized school. While there is nothing wrong with going to a place where what you study is exactly what you will be doing for the rest of your lives, a liberal education is diverse and teaches a person how to react in all types of situations and careers, not just one. With a liberal arts education, you can capitalize on so many different careers and so many opportunities that you would probably have never been offered had you not gotten one.

Zakaria mentions that writing “forces you to make choices and it brings clarity and order to your ideas.” Since I am currently in the process of revising my primary analysis, I will definitely keep this in mind as I read over it and make corrections. It is important to have a clear idea when writing a paper because then your readers will have an easier time reading and understanding your point of view. Thanks to my liberal arts education, I know that I can accomplish this.

6357479312236473461122459824_Liberal%2520Arts%2520Pic.imgopt1000x70

 

Until next time.

EMC

explore. muse. create.

 

 

Here’s the link so you can check out the article as well as his full speech!

Zakaria, Fareed. “Why the Liberal Arts Matter.” Fareed Zakaria GPS. CNN, 24 May 2014. Web. 15 Feb. 2016. <http://globalpublicsquare.blogs.cnn.com/2014/05/24/why-the-liberal-arts-matter/>.

Image: The Odyssey Online

Leave a Reply

